Henry V

a rousing production … one of the finest Shakespeare productions from Mr. McAnuff
The New York Times

We few, we happy few, we band of brothers

A stirring and spectacular epic drama that poses profound questions about a leader’s relationship with his people.

To unite in common cause a kingdom torn by civil strife, England’s new monarch decides to enforce his claim to the throne of France. But after his invasion’s initial success, he finds himself facing a vastly superior French force on the fields of Agincourt – and with it, the ultimate test of his leadership.

Featuring a company of forty-plus performers, Tony Award-winning director Des McAnuff’s production premiered on the sixtieth anniversary of the Stratford Festival’s opening.

Part of the Boar’s Head crew of Falstaff’s followers, Chris played a saturnine (and personally heartbroken) Nim and doubled as a cautious Earl of Salisbury who had the unenviable duty of carrying out the King’s command to execute the French prisoners (in McAnuff’s staging, by burning them in their cells). He understudied the braggart Pistol.

Cast & Creative
  • Henry V
  • by William Shakespeare
  • Stratford Festival
  • Directed by Des McAnuff
  • 2012